Skip to Main Content
Industry Mentorship Program Background Image
Home > Resources > Mentorship Program

Industry Mentorship Program

Three yellow rounds
Growing Together

The County of Simcoe EDO is expanding on the very successful Growing Together Mentorship Program that is already being offered to municipal employees.  The program is now available to people who work in 8 different sectors!

This new Industry focused mentorship program promotes teamwork, encourages partnerships and is accessible to all employees regardless of their employment status, position, department, or organization.

Whether you work for a municipality or in Aerospace, Agriculture, Construction, Entrepreneurship, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Tourism, or Professional/Scientific/Technical sectors this program is for you!

Top Sector yellow round Simcoe County Innovation Image Bottom Sector yellow round

Sectors Included in the Program


Technical Skills









Agriculture mentorship




Three Types of Mentorship Structures
One-on-One Mentoring

This is the traditional model of mentoring, where one mentor (leader) and one mentee (employee) agree to enter into a mentoring relationship to help the mentee develop, improve, and achieve their goals. In this type of mentoring, the mentor has more experience in an area that the mentee is interested in, and so can act as an advisor and guide.

Peer Mentoring

This involves colleagues with similar experience levels mentoring each other.  They may take turns acting as ‘mentor’ and ‘mentee’, but overall, peer mentoring is about creating a formal support system, learning together, and holding one another accountable.

Reverse Mentoring

A more junior person mentors a more senior person.

It’s easy to get started.

Sign up as a mentor, a mentee, or both!

A mentorship program can provide numerous benefits for mentors and their mentees. Developing this relationship can help both the mentor/mentee learn new things, build networks, and grow as professionals.

*The Growing Together Mentorship Program is available to residents from the County of Simcoe’s 16 member municipalities which include:

The Township of Adjala-Tosorontio,
The Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury,
The Township of  Clearview,
The Town of Collingwood,
The Township of Essa,
The Town of Innisfil,
The Town of Midland,
The Town of New Tecumseth,
The Township of Oro-Medonte,
The Town of Penetanguishene,
The Township of Ramara,
The Township of Severn,
The Township of Springwater,
The Township of Tay,
The Township of Tiny, and
The Town of Wasaga Beach

Residents from the Cities of Barrie and Orillia, Base Borden, Chippewas of Rama First Nation and Beausoleil First Nation are also welcome to participate!

All you need to do is register, build a profile and search for a mentor and/or mentee.

Sign up

Questions?  Need help using the Growing Together platform?  Contact